Yes, photo tagging can create some risk. You don’t have any control over others’ privacy settings. If someone tags you in a photo on Facebook, your picture is then available for that person’s friends list to see, and perhaps more – even the entire Web – depending on their privacy settings.
However, there is a way to set up your privacy settings so that others cannot see photos tagged with your name. Under “Privacy settings,” go to “Friends, Tags and Connections” and then in the “Photos and Videos of Me” section, choose “Customize.” From here, you can choose “Only me” for who can view your tagged photos and videos. You can also choose “Friends Only,” if you’d like your friends to be able to see your tagged photos and videos. Also, keep in mind that you can always manually untag yourself from any photo.