How does Facebook Messenger’s new ‘unsend’ feature work?

How does Facebook Messenger’s new ‘unsend’ feature work?

Have you ever been in a situation where you send a message in Facebook Messenger and want to delete it, be it because it might be something embarrassing or you’ve sent it to the wrong person by mistake, but you can’t? We’ve all been there, but luckily this will soon be a thing of the past.

Facebook is soon to release a new feature for its Messenger platform, which will allow users to delete messages up to 10 minutes after they have pressed send. Some users have seen the release in the notes section of the latest version of the app for iPhones.

You can apply the feature not only to text messages send on the social media channel, but also for photo and video files.

It is still not certain whether the feature will be available for the Android version of the app. The exact date of its full availability on iOS is also unknown.

Compared to other online messaging platforms, WhatsApp, which is also owned by Facebook, allows you to delete an unintended message within 1 hour. But 10 minutes is still a good heads up to remove a message in a chat.

Earlier this year when the Cambridge Analytica scandal unfolded, it became clear that Facebook deleted messages from CEO Mark Zuckerberg which were sent to users, while their responses remained. Since then the social media giant declared that it will be working on rolling out a feature that can be used by all Facebook users.

We’ll keep you updated on Facebook’s new feature as soon as it becomes available for use. In the meantime, if you have any questions – just ask! @JustAskGemalto

0